Just Me and My Shadow

Shadows!!!  on a Mac!!!

“Me and my shadow, Strolling down the avenue”

I’m a Mac user and I have been trying – unsuccessfully – for the past few months to get shadows to render in my SL viewer.  I’ve tried Kirsten’s Viewer, Phoenix and various revisions of the official viewer and prior to tonight, I had absolutely no luck.  I’d been working off of Strawberry Singh’s tutorials for enabling shadows in the various viewers but in spite of the tutorials being really well done, I still had no luck.  Tonight, the stars aligned for me and I was able to get shadows to render partially in Phoenix (shadows render but alpha textures do not) and completely in the SL 2.5 Beta Viewer (YAY!).  Kirsten’s Viewer still crashes.  What was different about tonight?  I followed the exact same steps I had before using Berry’s tutorials, but this time, I checked the hardware skinning box.  Berry mentions this for ATI video cards, but apparently my NVIDIA really wanted that box checked.  So hopefully this helps a Mac user that is struggling to get things working.  Below are my system specifications for reference.

System Specifications
Model: MacBook Pro 5,3
Processor: 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (it also has a 9400M, but I have it set to use the 9600)

Credits
Hair: Drew in Sangria – Truth
Skin: Erika – SK 19 – Belleza
Eyes: Summer – Shallow Water – Poetic Colors
Prim Lashes: Natural Mascara 01 Black – Laqroki
Tattoo Lipstick: Erika SK Lips 0 – Belleza
Manicure: Black Cherry Nails – RezIpsa Loc

Coat: Macking It Coat in Cream – LeLutka
Jeans: Lou Lou Denim in Original – Mon Tissu
Shoes: Lady T Gloss in True Black – Pixel Mode
Earrings: Pagani Earrings in Platinum – Mood

Poses: 1/365 – Long Awkward Pose
Listening To: Me and My Shadow – Judy Garland

Visit Stores, Designers and SLUrls to locate an item in world.

** This snapshot has only been cropped.  It has not been processed in Photoshop.

~ by Caelan Hancroft on February 7, 2011.

One Response to “Just Me and My Shadow”

  1. Wonderful, thank you for sharing. I tried with a similar mac book and it works well, beside the extra lag. Sadly, with a older mac book (8600M GT graphic card) it still freezes (viewer 2.6).

Leave a Reply

 
